A good day of serving! - Reisverslag uit München, Duitsland van Jelyn Pronk - WaarBenJij.nu A good day of serving! - Reisverslag uit München, Duitsland van Jelyn Pronk - WaarBenJij.nu

A good day of serving!

Door: Jelyn

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Jelyn

30 April 2014 | Duitsland, München

Hallo da!

So as I promised you, I will write about the first serving day and today! Well, yesterday I should be there at 7 o'clock and I met (I think) the head/manager of the serving department. She wanted to have breakfast with me, so we went downstairs and she asked some questions. I told her that hopelfully she wouldn't ecpext too much of me, because actually if you don't have that much experience in a restaurant, I thought it would be impossible to serve in a 5 star restaurant. So then she introduced me to two serving girls and I could ask them to help me if I didn't know what to do. So when the woman left they just said that I could just walk in the buffet restaurant and constantly when there was rubbish on the table or if the guest wanted anything, I would be in charge. So guess what.. I went in and just acted like I worked there for a couple of years. And I have to say (although normally I'm not that positive about myself) it went all quite well! I could walk with a lot of plates and glasses on my serving tray, the guests thanked me quite a lot and so the blisters I got from my new shoes were worth it! However, I did have some difficulties with the coffee machine and sometimes I grabbed something from the table, while I should have asked them if I could. After the bsy breakfast, we had a break and then the cleaning work starts; the silverware should be poultered, all the cans, set of dishes should be brought to the kitchen, the napkins (servetten) should be folded and the tables should be perfectly setted and cleaned (the spoon in sugar should be upside down and directing at the cold milk). The whole kitchen was working really hard, I did all of the examples I just mentioned and we all knew that how harder we worked how earlier we were allowed to go. Well, at 14:00 I was free to go! I guess that shows that we all did the best we could! I went with the S-Bahn to the hostfamily and it was nice because they were there already! But I really needed to take some rest (every day I start extremely early), so I slept the whole afternoon till 16:30! Then after a delicious dinner I talked at the kitchentable with the mother (incredible sweet!) and after that I went to bed because I should wake up at 4:30. Today it was not that special because I only served for half an hour and the rest of the time I had to fold the napkins. I should be an expert at folding because I did this for almost the whole day (i think it's a pity because I couldn't bring the stuff I learned of the day before into practice or improve my mistakes.) Then today the hostfamily took me to the Fruhlingsfest! It was great!! It's like a fun fair (kermis) but than really big and there were a lot of 'Biergarten' and tents. Most of the girls/women and boys/men were dressed in their typical Beier/Bavarian clothes (see picture of the men!) and there was a lot of beer! We also took some drinks at the Biergarten and I thought the glasses were huge! The girl of 12 begged me to go with her in one of the rough attractions, so I went with her but afterwards I felt a little bit sick. However, I had lots of fun that afternoon!
Tomorrow I will be page, I'm excited because I think it's going to be nice! I should start at 7 AM again so 6;15 the S-Bahn! It will be my last day already!

Goodnight Frauen und Herren!
ciaouu!

Ps: tomorrow or the day after when I get home I will add some pictures!

  • 01 Mei 2014 - 17:58

    Sebas:

    Nou ben benieuwd hoor!

  • 02 Mei 2014 - 20:25

    Rob:

    Very interesting again, and so nice to learn about all your new experiences! Hope your last day will be better fun ;-)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Jelyn

Welkom op mijn reisblog! Ik ga binnenkort 1 weekje naar München om daar mee te draaien in het Sofitel hotel! I'm really excited and from now on, I should report all my experiences in English! Good luck everyone!

Actief sinds 17 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 340
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6652

Voorgaande reizen:

Landen bezocht: